The academic year and teaching periods

By selecting a degree programme you are able to see the general content as well as the possible degree programme-specific content. You do not have to select a degree programme to see the Open University's instructions.

The academic year begins on 1 August and ends on the last day of the following July. The autumn term begins on 1 August and ends on 31 December, and the spring term begins on 1 January and ends on 31 July. Teaching is arranged during the teaching periods.

Teaching periods

The academic year is divided into four teaching periods, each of which lasts seven weeks. All except the degree programmes in Medicine, Dentistry and Veterinary Medicine follow this schedule. There are two periods in autumn term and two in spring term. For exact dates, see below.  Please check the teaching schedules from Sisu.

The academic year has three intensive periods: before the first and third teaching period and at the end of the fourth period. Intensive periods are intended to increase the amount of instruction offered according to the needs of the faculty and the students. Various orientation sessions, special or language courses or preparatory courses may be organized during the intensive periods.

Academic year 2021-2022

Autumn term 2021
Spring term 2022
Intensive period 30 August – 5 September Intensive period 3 – 16 January
1st teaching period 6 September – 24 October 3rd teaching period 17 January – 6 March
Examination and study week 25 – 31 October Examination and study week 7 – 13 March
2nd teaching period 1 November – 19 December 4th teaching period 14 March – 8 May
Examination and study week 20 – 23 December Examination and study week 9 – 15 May
  Intensive period 9 – 31 May

Academic year 2022–2023

Autumn term 2022
Spring term 2023
Intensive period 28 August – 4 September Intensive period 2 – 15 January
1st teaching period 5 September – 23 October 3rd teaching period 16 January – 5 March
Examination and study week 24 - 30 October Examination and study week 6 – 12 March
2nd teaching period 31 October – 18 December 4th teaching period 13 March – 7 May
Examination and study week 19 – 23 December Examination and study week 8 – 14 May
  Intensive period 8 – 31 May


Exchange duration

2021 – 2022

  • Autumn semester: August 31 - December 23, 2021, including orientation
  • Spring semester: January 12 - May 31, 2022, including orientation

2022 - 2023

  • Autumn Semester: 30 August – 23 December 2022 ,including orientation period
  • Spring Semester: 11 January – 31 May 2023, including orientation period

The exchange period includes 2-3 day long, mandatory orientation week

Teaching breaks and the summer term

There is a week’s break in teaching after each period to allow students to study and take examinations.

There is a break of approximately four weeks in teaching at the turn of the year, between the second and third teaching periods. However, orientation studies or separate special or intensive courses may be organised during these breaks.

There is a break in teaching for Easter (three days before and three days after Easter Sunday).

The summer term begins after the fourth examination and study week, and continues until the beginning of the August intensive period. Summer examinations, placement tests, thesis and study supervision, special and intensive courses, summer schools and Open University studies may be organised during the summer term.

The opening of the academic year and the opening carnival are held in the afternoon on the first day of the first teaching period (of the term), and no teaching will be arranged during this time

Teachers' office hours

Teachers have office hours during the academic year typically from the beginning of September until the end of May. The practices for office hours vary slightly between faculties and degree programmes.

Teachers must be available for students every week between 1 September and 31 May, with the exception of the period around the new year. This means either face-to-face office hours or contact via phone, mail or email.

Students working on theses or dissertations must receive supervision of their work between 1 September and 31 May.