Doctoral researchers as student representatives

The instruction belongs to the following themes

By selecting a degree programme you are able to see the general content as well as the possible degree programme-specific content. You do not have to select a degree programme to see the Open University's instructions.

The University of Helsinki operates four doctoral schools, with a total of 33 doctoral programmes. Each doctoral programme has a steering group consisting of the director and up to eight members, of whom two are doctoral researchers in the programme and up to six are members of teaching and research staff. In addition, the steering group of each doctoral school has a doctoral researcher representative. 

The term of office of the steering group is four years, except for the doctoral researcher representatives, whose term is two years. The University of Helsinki PhD Students association (HYVÄT) holds a biennial election, based on which the association suggests the doctoral researcher representatives for steering groups. The final decision on the appointment of student representatives for the steering groups of doctoral programmes is made by the dean of the faculty coordinating each programme.

Serving as a doctoral student representative is a great opportunity to influence decisions on doctoral education and play a role in development work in your doctoral programme and more widely at the University.

For information on the current student representatives of your doctoral programme, see the website of your programme.