Doctoral students as student representatives

Select degree programme

Search for degree programme

Bachelor's Programmes

Master's and Licentiate's Programmes

Doctoral Programmes


The University of Helsinki operates four doctoral schools, with a total of 32 doctoral programmes. Each doctoral programme has a steering group consisting of the director and up to eight members, of whom two are doctoral students in the programme and up to six are members of teaching and research staff. In addition, the steering group of each doctoral school has a doctoral student representative. 

The term of office of the steering group is four years, except for the doctoral student representatives, whose term is two years. The University of Helsinki PhD Students association (HYVÄT) holds a biennial election, based on which the association suggests the doctoral student representatives for steering groups. The final decision on the appointment of student representatives for the steering groups of doctoral programmes is made by the dean of the faculty coordinating each programme.

Serving as a doctoral student representative is a great opportunity to influence decisions on doctoral education and play a role in development work in your doctoral programme and more widely at the University.

For information on the current student representatives of your doctoral programme, see the website of your programme.